Distinguished Young Women of Baldwin County Saturday

The Distinguished Young Women of Baldwin County program is Saturday, August 30th at the Faulkner State Community College Performing Arts Center. The Baldwin County program will celebrate its 50th anniversary this year, with a theme of “The Roaring ‘20s!”  Nineteen contestants will compete in interviews and scholastic portions off stage, with the audience able to watch the fitness routine, self expression and talent. 

Contestants this year include Baldwin County High School’s Sarah Barnett, Tucker Clay, Brooke Emmons, Erian Cierra Riley, Kayla Waite and Scottlin Williams; Fairhope High School’s Amber-Lynn Boothe and Brooke Justesen; Olivia Buchanan of Daphne High School; McGill Toolen Catholic High School’s Savannah Childress and Anna Mullek; Kaitlyn Ebert of Foley High School; Robertsdale High School’s Bailey Ellison, Zoey Gibson, Regis Givens, Evie Hackney and Paige Langlinais; Anna Grace Johnson of Bayside Academy and Kendall Miller of Spanish Fort High School.

Founded in 1958 in Mobile, Alabama, Distinguished Young Women is the largest and oldest national scholarship program for high school girls. During its 57 years of operation, the program has provided life-changing experiences for more than 730,000 young women. Last year, Distinguished Young Women provided more than $367 million in cash and college scholarship opportunities to program participants at the local, state and national level. Previously known as America’s Junior Miss, the program announced its new name in June 2010.

Doors open at 5:30 p.m. and the program starts at 6:30 p.m. Tickets will be available at the door and are $10 for adults, and $5 for students. For more information on this year’s program, please visit www.distinguishedyw.org.

blog comments powered by Disqus