Nine local schools part of new class


According to the AHSAA website, The Alabama High School Athletic Association Central Board of Control adopted a new seven-classification system for championship play. The new system is expected to begin with the 2014-15 and 2015-16 school year. All sports will adopt the new seven class system.

Area schools that will become members of the classification include; Alma Bryant, Baker, Davidson, Fairhope, Foley, Mary Montgomery, McGill-Toolen, Murphy and Theodore.

A statement released on the AHSAA website said,

“The seven classification system will allow more student athletes to participate in championship events and more will experience first hand what it means to play in some of the best venues in our state,” Central Board President Lamar Brooks said. “With the addition of an extra championship game, revenues should increase which will mean much needed additional money for all schools through the AHSAA revenue sharing program.”

The current six-classification system has been in place since 1984. The new system will place the 32 largest schools together in class 7A.

blog comments powered by Disqus